Skip to main content

Support Promote Advocate

for Borderline Personality Disorder

Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Cal
New Contributor

Depressed and alone

Hi this is my first time posting, 

im really depressed and I feel all alone, and it's so very hard to talk to people that don't understand, I'm single 36 and all alone, I've been estranged from my family for 7 years now and only have friends on Facebook, none offline. So I feel isolated, what should I do??

11 REPLIES 11
Former-Member
Not applicable

Re: Depressed and alone

Hey man...

Hope you feel better soon..

same siutation apart from a few factors. Try joining a gym or doing a social sport.

Watching the Reds at the moment with Dad which makes things a little bit easier for me.

Former-Member
Not applicable

Hi @Cal, @Caos
WELCOME TO SANEFORUMS
Loneliness is a killer, we really do have to push against its taking over. Someone on the forums here visits the local coffee shop daily, just that brief ecchange with the counter ppl and watching others come & go helps us feel connected.
You will find friends here. I can feel left out even here but maybe pick a couple threads at first.
Be kind to you, be your own best friend too.

"Life is difficult
But not impossible"
Former-Member
Not applicable

Hi @Cal

I agree with the above - loneliness is the pits.

There are quite a few things you can do about it. Firstly your age is on your side. You can join support groups for those who struggle with depression - they can have regular social gatherings as well.