Skip to main content

Support Promote Advocate

for Borderline Personality Disorder

Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Poppy7
Casual Contributor

I am so lonely and can’t cope

Hi all,

This is my first time posting. I usually sit on the side lines and don’t ask for help and pretend it’s all ok but when I’m alone I can’t handle the loneliness I feel.

I have depression and anxiety as a result of traumatic circumstances and stress that I’ve been under since 17. Now 26.  I am a single mum, work full time plus do casual support  work on the weekend to make ends meet. When I’m busy and distracted I’m happy and “ok”. When I’m alone at night and my 7 year old is asleep I find I can’t cope . I think very negatively and have no one I can talk to. I get quite snappy and irritable at family and this pushes them away.

im so lost and I hate feeling this way and this pain . I want it gone I just would like someone to talk to someone who is in a similar situation so I don’t feel so alone . It would be amazing 

5 REPLIES 5

Re: I am so lonely and can’t cope

Hi @Poppy7. I am so glad you decided not to sit on the sidelines and explained what is going on in your life.   I can assure you that you are not alone in having these feelings that you are experiencing.  

I am sorry to hear that you had a traumatic experience which led to these feelings.  I have a 15 year old neice who contracted anorexia because of PTS from her experiencing continued  traumatic situations in her early childhood.  

And when you are alone with nothing to distract your mind that is when you start thinking about things and start feeling worse about it all.