Skip to main content

Support Promote Advocate

for Borderline Personality Disorder

Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Nursie
New Contributor

Therapist thinks I need space from my bf

I am a registered nurse who’s in-between jobs and really enjoying the extra time I’m getting w my bf. My psychiatrist and therapist (he does both) is pushing me to get a part time job in the evening so I can practice functioning on my own, without my boyfriend or a close friend (I tend to cling and “use them to feel stable in my identity” or something). My bf is a little clingy too and we both just want to enjoy this time. I’ve been miserable for so long and am finally enjoying myself. Do I follow my shrink’s instructions? He’s never led me astray but has always pushed for space between my bf and me, even though we have a relatively peaceful and very happy relationship...

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Therapist thinks I need space from my bf

Hi @Nursie, welcome to the forum. Smiley Happy

If it was me in your situation, I would follow what feels right inside myself. That would be spending time with your boyfriend and enjoying things while that is happening. Your therapist may believe that you and your boyfriend are 'co-dependent'. Personally, I've never liked that term as it implies that humans can be completely independent, when it seems clear to me that interdependency is how we all live.

I may be giving you dodgy advice though. I am not an expert. These are just words from a fellow mental illness sufferer, who believes that taking joy when it comes is the way to go.

Wishing you the best.