Skip to main content

Support Promote Advocate

for Borderline Personality Disorder

Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Penny6
Casual Contributor

25 years diagnosed with Bipolar

Hi. Nice to be on here. This is my first time that I have reached out on an on-line capacity to others with a shared experience of mental health problems. I have had the diagnosis of bipolar for 25 years now but there were early signs in my youth of depression and social anxiety/paranoia. I first crashed when I was 27 with a major psychotic episode. Since then I have had several such episodes resulting in hospitalisations. My last one was in May this year. During the episodes I can be well and functioning but for the main part depression and anxiety are present in varying degrees. My awareness and insight has improved over time and I follow the advice of health professionals with regards to taking medication and receiving therapy regularly. My supports from family and friends has been quite good. But I am beginning to feel that they no longer have the capacity to listen to my mental health issues. I believe they love me but I can't help feeling that the impacts of my illness has affected them too over this long duration of time. I have decided for the moment to exclude them in the details of my problems and turn to the professionals and to like minded people who have a shared experience. I look forward to future conversations with whom ever reads this. 

6 REPLIES 6

Re: 25 years diagnosed with Bipolar