Skip to main content

Support Promote Advocate

for Borderline Personality Disorder

Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Harlequin
New Contributor

Hello!

Hi!

This is my first time engaging here.  I watched the Sane Impact forum today and realised I have been missing out on an opportunity to connect with others of like experience and maybe even to make a contribution.  Hence here I am! 

I was diagnosed with Bipolar 2 fifteen years ago.  I have been medicated effectively and managing my condition fairly well for the past 5 years or so - it took many years and a long hospital stay to get to this point. 

I find the inconsistencies that are hallmarks of this condition to be the most difficult to accept and tolerate - the feeling ok for a little while, and then not.  Sometimes I have days of feeling functional and content, occasionally it's even weeks.  Sometimes it's only enough hours to get a task done or have some sort of interaction before I collapse in a drained heap. 

Then I become insular and isolated - I am unable to stop myself from holding those who might support me at arms length. I become lonely, despondent and... you know how it goes.

I have never consciously met another person who has been diagnosed with Bipolar 2, so sometimes I feel like I'm the only weirdo in the world!  I know this isn't true, so hello to you all!

With warm regards

Harlequin

7 REPLIES 7
Captain24
Senior Contributor

Re: Hello!

Hi @Harlequin 

Welcome to the forums.

Meet a fellow Bipolar 2 weirdo! My diagnosis is only recent so the psychiatrist is still trying to find the right combination of meds.