Skip to main content

Support Promote Advocate

for Borderline Personality Disorder

Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

JamesBluntus
Contributor

QUESTION: Can providing TOO MUCH support encourage depression? (PLEASE READ TOPIC)

Now, please understand here, I myself have minor depression, so I know what it's like when someone says "Oh you're just lazy" so I am not suggesting that everyone with depression is faking and please understand that I am not the greatest wordsmith and can clumsily word things. I am also new to this (supporting someone through depression), so I want to make sure I receive as much information to enable me to best support her.

With that said, my question is, can providing too much support, dropping everything to rush to someone's side, immediately replying to a message etc, actually be counter productive and have the opposite effect and make the depression worse by encouraging it?

If the answer is yes, then my next question is how do you strike the right balance between supporting someone, and not encouraging the depression?

13 REPLIES 13

Re: QUESTION: Can providing TOO MUCH support encourage depression? (PLEASE READ TOPIC)

Hello @JamesBluntus

There is a thread called " Carers Hints and Tips " to have a look at

my question is, can providing too much support, dropping everything to rush to someone's side, immediately replying to a message etc === yes you can do too much , they need to do things for themselves too which I know is hard