Skip to main content

Support Promote Advocate

for Borderline Personality Disorder

Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Attahua
Senior Contributor

Working with a mental illness

Hi all, I haven't posted in quite some time and things are actually ticking along relatively smoothly. My long term partner who has schizoeffective disorder has not had a relapse since this time last year so fingers crossed it will be a peaceful year! However, we have a long standing never ending disagreement and I just cannot seem to quite see it from his perspective so posting in here for advice, others experiences etc! I work full time as a teacher of 5 year olds so my job can be quite exhausting and very demanding at times. My partner has a casual job and a very very understanding employer. The issue is that my partner does not rise before 10 am and then he may or may not go to work, depending how he feels and how he feels varies from one week to the next! Once he is up he is quite active and if not working he cleans the house and cares for the garden for which I am very grateful but unfortunately that does not pay our bills. I do nag him about going to work as he is quite the control freak about our money and as he pays all the bills he reminds we regularly that we are on a tight budget, ! The part he doesn't seem to grasp or is not willing to admit is that we could have a little more cash flow if he got up at a normal time and went into work, the work is there, he just needs to do it!!! That's when we have the same argument as he says his monthly depot makes him really really tired and he finds it hard to function. Well I can't argue with that as I know nothing about his medication and I do empathise that it would