Skip to main content

Support Promote Advocate

for Borderline Personality Disorder

Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Ray_D
Contributor

Feeling isolated with my secret bipolar illness

Hi, this is my first post. I've had bipolar disorder for 15 years. I can't share my experiences especially at work because I am a manager and my psychiatrist advised me that people would not respect my decisions if they knew about my illness. I can't talk to any support group because it's a small town. I'm hoping this is a safe place to share. Does anyone else feel like they're living a secret?
7 REPLIES 7

Re: Feeling isolated with my secret bipolar illness

Yes don't tell!!! On this forum though you can be open and honest. You will find topics on this subject and more. Since I've been on here I found the most compassionate kind group people who have had various experiences. Others might have a different view than me but I do feel people do use MI against us in the work force. Welcome to the forums. Happy new year.

Hi @Ray_D

Welcome to the SANE forums!

I am not sure about others that feel like they are living a secret, im sure many people dont feel comfortable telling others about challenges they are facing, but there has been a bit of a discussion about dislosing MI in the workplace here 

and there are also a number of other members who have identified as having bipolar such as @mrkotter @GonePirate @Nikolai @Loki

again welcome and i hope that you can find the forums as a bit of an online support group