Skip to main content

Support Promote Advocate

for Borderline Personality Disorder

Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Talzy_T
Contributor

New to Melbourne need to make Friends

Hi Everyone,

I live in Melbourne, I'm new to the city and I only made one friend through work its bit hard talking to her about mental health as she is just grasping information about it and I was trying to find people who would understand mental health and connect with you guys as I need to connect with people in a meaningful way. 

I'm from a Pakistani muslim background and its really hard to talk about this with my family as they dont get it at all. I also have a strong hate towards the religion because they dont have a real proper solution to mental health besides praying and spiritually connecting to god which I dont have and I dont want to at all.

I've been through so much in this last 5 years of my life that there were many situations that I could've died and I've experienced psychosis. Its scary to be in that mind set and I wish there are more people to talk to about these things. 

23 REPLIES 23

Re: New to Melbourne need to make Friends

Sorry if I'm rude, but I'm an Australian, I grew up in Canberra and these past 5 years has been hell for me. Yeah I've been in Australia my entire life lol. I just have a different cultural background that does not meet my beliefs.

Hi @Talzy_T hope u find some ppl soon who are more on Ur wavelength in Ur new city

Making friends is hard fir me too, as an adult...it is so awkward! Hope Ur having a good day

Hello and welcome @Talzy_T